Advisory Committee on Sustainability

The Advisory Committee on Sustainability (ACS) provides a forum to bring together academic program, facility planning and campus operating interests in sustainability. By increasing awareness of our strengths in these areas and identifying areas for further improvement, the campus will continue to define itself as a leader in understanding the earth sciences, while putting into practice the principles of environmental stewardship in its operations.


  • Share information about education, research and outreach activities of UC San Diego in the context of environmental stewardship and sustainability and prepare periodic reports to the chancellor and the university community
  • Recommend and support efforts to improve environmental stewardship and sustainability in UC San Diego facility planning and operations
  • Make sustainability part of ongoing education, research, operations and outreach programs


The Advisory Committee on Sustainability includes representatives from faculty, staff and students (both graduate and undergraduate), including leaders of key campus organizations already involved in environment and sustainability activities. Representatives are appointed by the Faculty Senate, Associated Students, Graduate Student Association, Staff Association, Health System, Medical School, etc. The ACS is chaired by the Vice Chancellor of Resource Management and Planning.


Ex Officio

  • Sandra Brown, VC Research
  • Mark Cunningham, Housing & Dining Services
  • Juan Gonzalez, VC Student Affairs
  • William Hodgkiss, AVC Academic Personnel Services
  • Joel King, Facilities Design & Construction
  • Margaret Leinen, VC Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Chair and Support Staff

  • Chair: Gary Matthews, VC Resource Management & Planning
  • Support: Dave Weil, Campus Carbon Neutrality (RM&P)
  • Support: Sara McKinstry, Sustainability (RM&P)
  • Support: Jennifer Bowser, Sustainability (RM&P)


  • Jennifer Burney, Assistant Professor, School of Global Policy & Strategy
  • Subrata Chakraborty, PostDoctoral Staff, Chemistry
  • Teddy Cruz, Professor, Visual Arts
  • TBD, Undergraduate Student
  • Viktoria Gisladottir, Graduate Student
  • Hugh Hagues, Staff Representative, University Centers
  • Ken Hall, Staff Representative, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Kimberly Hui, Undergraduate Student
  • Anna Levitt, Staff, UC San Diego Health System
  • Shirley Meng, Associate Professor, Nanoengineering
  • Wesley Neeley, Graduate Student
  • Keith Pezzoli, Teaching Professor, Urban Studies & Planning